Secondary education

Key Stage 3 (11 to 14 years old)

This stage is made up of Years 7, 8 and 9.

As in the previous key stage, the pupils will have both class tutors and the specialist teachers that are required in specific areas.

The subjects which are taught throughout Key Stages 1 and 2 are:

  1. Mathematics
  2. English Language and Literature
  3. Combined Sciences (Physics, Chemistry and Biology)
  4. Geography
  5. History
  6. Art and Design
  7. Information Technology
  8. Physical Education
  9. Music
  10. Foreign language
  11. Personal, Social and Health Education

The subjects which are studied within the Spanish part of the curriculum are:

  1. Spanish language
  2. Valencian language
  3. Geography and History of Spain

Key Stage 4 (14 to 16 years old)

This final stage of Secondary Education is made up of Years 10 and 11, which are equivalent to the last two years of E.S.O. in the Spanish system, and it is at the end of Year 11 that GCSE exams are taken.

The compulsory subjects are:
Mathematics English Language Information Technology
Physics Chemistry Biology
P.E. Personal and Social Education

The optional subjects, of which two must be chosen, are the following:

Geography History Art and Design
English Literature Spanish Literature Foreign Language

Amongst the subjects belonging to the Spanish curriculum, there are:

Spanish Language Valencian language Geography and History of Spain