Primary education

In the British system, Primary Education begins in Year 1 (at the age of 5) and it is now when the children begin to speak correctly, to read and to work with numbers.

Key Stages 1 and 2 (5 to 11 years old)

Primary is divided into two parts, the first which includes Years 1 and 2 and the second which covers Years 3 to 6.

The subjects which are taught throughout Key Stages 1 and 2 are:

  1. Literacy
  2. Numeracy
  3. Art, Design and Technology
  4. Geography
  5. History
  6. Music
  7. Physical Education
  8. Computing
  9. Personal, Social and Health Education
  10. Spanish Language
  11. "Ciencias Naturales"
  12. "Ciencias Sociales"
  13. "Valencian"

The subjects which correspond to the Spanish curriculum are taught by qualified native Spanish teachers. From year 3 onwards the children will also study Spanish language, Valencian language, Ciencias Naturales and Ciencias Sociales.